Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get our professional tips mailed direct


Scotland cricket news and previews are now available online.

The Scotland national cricket team first competed in English domestic cricket in 1980, when they competed in the Benson & Hedges Cup for the first time. 

Three years later they took part in the Nat West trophy. Their first Benson & Hedges win came against Lancashire in 1986. They were elected to associate membership of the International Cricket Council in 1994 after having severed their cricketing links with the England cricket team two years earlier. This allowed them to qualify for the Cricket World Cup in 1999 but they lost all their five matches. Furthermore, the team were unable to qualify in 2003.

In 2004 the Scotland cricket team competed in the inaugural ICC Intercontinental Cup. They beat Ireland, Netherlands, Kenya and Canada to win the tournament. They also competed in that tournament in 2005, but failed to progress past the first round. By qualifying for the semi-finals of the 2005 ICC Trophy  they gained One Day International status from 2006 to the next ICC World Cup Qualifier in 2009. Scotland played their first One Day International outside of World Cups against Pakistan in June 2006, with the European Championship matches against Ireland and the Netherlands during August also being classed as full One Day International games.

The Scottish national team participated in the 2009 ICC World Twenty20 held in England in June 2009. Scotland competed with well-established cricketing nations New Zealand and South Africa. Their opening game against New Zealand was shortened to 7 overs per side due to rain. The Scots set an impressive total of 89/4 of their 7 overs. But New Zealand still managed to win by 7 wickets with 1 over to spare. South Africa defeated them by 130 runs, the second largest defeat by a run margin in a Twenty20 international.

During March and April 2009 Scotland attempted to defend the ICC Trophy they won in 2005. To secure qualification for the 2011 Cricket World Cup a top four place was targeted. They were also attempting to secure ODI status by finishing in the top six.Scotland started the tournament badly by losing 3 of their 5 group games. 

With only the points earned against Namibia being taken through to the Super Eights, Scotland faced a difficult route to the World Cup. Scotland started the Super Eights well by beating the Netherlands in their first match. Defeats against Kenya and against Afghanistan followed. The result of which threatened Scotland's qualification for the World Cup as well as the possibility of losing their ODI status if they finished out of the top six.Victory against UAE in their last game, and an improved run-rate, thanks to the 122 run victory, ensured a top six place for the Scots, securing ODI status until the next round of World Cup qualifiers.

The international teams then entered a transitional phase, with the retirement of several key players from the previous few years. It was 2011 when Scotland emerged with a fully competitive team, most notably winning four consecutive One Day Internationals against Afganistan, Netherlands (twice) and Ireland. Following defeat by Sri Lanka, they continued a successful path by beating Northamptonshire & Warwickshire on consecutive days in the CB40 Competition.

The more well known players in Scottish cricket history are Asim Butt, Gavin Hamilton, John Blain, George Salmond, Neil McCallum, Ryan Watson, Dougie Brown, Majid Haq, Fraser Watts.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages