Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get our professional tips mailed direct

West Indies

Latest West Indies Stories/

West Indies cricket news and previews are now available online.

The West Indies cricket team consists of a sporting confederation of 15 Caribbean countries including Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Anguilla, Montserrat, British Virgin Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands and Sint Maarten.

Each of these countries also play cricket nationally, in domestic cricket competitions for different formats, like the Carib Beer Cup or the Caribbean T20 tournament.

West Indies began playing international cricket in 1928, becoming the fourth nation after Australia, England and South Africa to play Test matches.

West Indies was said to be one of the fiercest sides to have played cricket in the 1970s and 1980s and went on to win two World Cup tournaments and were runner-up in the third. They beat Australia in the 1975 World Cup final, England in the finals of the 1979 edition before losing to India in 1983.

Unfortunately, the late 1980s and beyond that also coincided with the decline of West Indian cricket. This included a first round exit in the 1987 and 1992 World Cup. In 1996, West Indies reached the semi-final of the World Cup for the last time, bowing out in the first rounds of 1999 and 2003 editions, the Super Eight stage in 2007 and the quarter-finals of the 2011 World Cup.

The West Indies compete against Australia in Test matches for the Sir Frank Worrell trophy while the West Indies-England Test series is for the Wisden Trophy.

West Indies have also won the Mini World Cup (also called the Champions Trophy) once, in 2004, before finishing runner-up in 2006.

Some of the top players to have represented the West Indies are Sir Garfield Sobers, Lance Gibbs, Gordon Greenidge, George Headley, Clive Lloyd, Malcolm Marshall, Andy Roberts, Alvin Kallicharran, Rohan Kanhai, Frank Worrell, Everton Weekes, Courtney Walsh, Curtly Ambrose, Michael Holding, Joel Garner, Sir Viv Richards and Brian Lara. Others to have made a name for themselves were George Headley, Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes, Richie Richardson, Jimmy Adams, Carl Hooper, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Chris Gayle. 

You have unread messages

You have unread messages